I APPLIED FOR A HOOKING POSITION

Image

                                                                                                                                           Photo copied from http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulogazelle/76622455/

Filling out endless amounts of applications all comes with the territory of being entry level, but some of the nonsense that I have been coming across lately has really been contributing to me going insane!   I keep talking about this particular application I came across with anyone and everyone that will listen because I am still completely annoyed with what happened.

You see I was filling out this poorly developed application (this is my field I know this stuff) for about 30 minutes when all of a sudden I was hit with the most ridiculous question yet! I was asked my marital status. Some of you may think okay Erika what is the big deal? Just answer the question.

Well unless you are some very cute man with a Caribbean accent about to buy me a Watermelon Long Island at the club, my marital status has nothing to do with you or your stupid application. Does my husband somehow increase or decrease my ability to perform the duties you are seeking from a candidate? Where is the logic!

As I assess the entire situation the only logical conclusion I can come up with is that I was really filling out an application for some creepers who are looking for singles to be a part of their “organization” AKA the street corner. Maybe the application was developed in another country where a woman’s marital status determines if she can work or not.

Either way, these folks need to hire people like me that will develop more effective applications to maximize  quality talent pool, but no… they are too busy hiring people with 20 years of experience who continue the same pointless practices they have been doing for the past 20 years( such as developing horrible applications). Yet these organizations ask for innovation. HA! If you want innovation hire someone who barely remembers Reagan and can tell you their favorite Power Ranger! I’m talking about a Millennial dang it!  And more specifically I’m talking about this millennial!

One thought on “I APPLIED FOR A HOOKING POSITION

  1. Pingback: I APPLIED FOR A HOOKING POSITION | Ntrylevel

Leave a Reply

